The Copy presets section allows you to manage the existing default Copy presets or add new ones. These presets let you set custom copy actions to be performed after the PDF was successfully generated. The default presets will allow you to have the generated PDF copied to a different folder or rename the generated PDF. A preset can be used by multiple printing profiles and whenever a preset is updated, it will be modified automatically in all profiles that use it.
This will create a new preset based on the default one. You can change its settings and use the Save button to record your changes and create the preset. It is created only after you click on the Save button, if you click on Cancel or select a different preset the current one will be discarded.
This allows you to duplicate an existing preset. To do so, just select an existing preset and click on Copy. Unlike the New option, when you copy an existing preset the duplicate is automatically saved with a different name (original name of the preset plus the word Copy ). Removing the original preset doesn't affect in any way the existing copy of it.
Deletes the preset selected from the list of presets. You cannot delete the default presets that are included in the application.
You can use the left/right arrows in the top-right section of the window to navigate back to the profile manager page or forward to the preset window. You can also access quickly the presets by clicking on the Profile text next to the navigational arrows and selecting the preset section you want to read more about.
When the novaPDF is installed, a default set of presets is included for each section that uses presets. These presets have predetermined unchangeable settings that are taken into consideration when creating the PDF files.
However you can create custom presets based on the default ones that when used, will create PDFs using the options you've chosen. In novaPDF there are two types of presets, private and public:
- Private presets. A private preset is visible only to the current user. By default new presets are created as private and only the users from the computer where it was created will be able to see it and use that preset in their profiles.
- Public presets. Public presets are visible from all client computers (or other users on the same computer) that connect to and print via the computer where they are defined (the printer server). When a public preset will be used, all the settings from that preset will be propagated to the client computers.
This list shows the presets (both private and public) that were defined. The icon on the right of the preset name shows what type of it is (public or private). You can filter the shown profiles by starting to type in the search field and also use the Public/Private checkboxes to filter them by type.
The default save presets are automatically included in the application and available right after installation. These are presets created based on the most used scenarios for this section.
Copy PDF to folder
If you use this default Copy preset, the created PDF file will be copied to a custom location. You must select the custom location in the Destination file section for this preset to be correctly executed. The original PDF will remain in its initial location, only a copy of it will be created into the new destination folder. The new PDF will have the same name as the original one.
The original PDF file will be copied to a new location that you select, with a new name based on the naming rules you define in the File section.
You can type a name for the default preset you are editing/creating.
Add a description for the default preset you are creating/editing.
Optionally you can set the author for this default preset.
When the novaPDF is installed, a default preset is created. This preset uses its own default printing settings to create the PDF files. However you can change those settings and create a custom preset, that when used, will create PDFs using the options you've chosen. For each newly defined preset you can choose to have it as Private or Public by checking or unchecking the Private checkbox.
You can select the PDF file to be copied to the new destination. It can be either the original PDF that was generated, or one located in a custom folder:
- Original PDF. This will use the PDF you generated as the source for copying the file.
- Custom PDF. Browse for the custom PDF file that you want copied to a new location. If it is located on a network drive, you can enter an Username/Password to access that location. You can use Macro variables to automatically generate a file name.
This is where you set options for the destination of the PDF that will be copied. You can copy a PDF to a custom destination or the original location.
- Original PDF. This works only if you selected Custom PDF in the Source file section. It will copy the custom PDF you selected as the source to the original location of the PDF that is generated.
- Custom PDF. This will copy the PDF file you selected as source to a custom location. You can use the Folder section to select the location where the PDF will be saved. If you want to name the file differently than its current name you can enter the new naming details in the File field - Keep original file name must be unchecked if you want to rename the PDF. You can use Macro variables both for the folder path where the PDF will be saved, and the filename of the PDF that will be copied over. The Preview section will show how the filename looks.
When file exists
You can choose how the copy action will run when a file with the same name already exists in the destination folder:
- Overwrite existing file - existing file is overwritten with the source file
- Prompt save dialog - a "Save as" dialog will be shown so you can change the name of the file or folder manually
- Do not save - if a PDF file with the same name already exists in the selected destination, the current PDF file will not be saved
- Modify file name - if a PDF file with the same name already exists, you can modify the filename based on one of the following rules:
- Auto number new files - a counter is added to the file name of the new generate pdf file
- Append date and time - the date and time is appended to the generated pdf file name
- Auto number existing files - a counter is added to the file name of the existing pdf file. The new pdf file will have the name set in this dialog.
Note: Some of the features mentioned on this page might not be available in your edition. The Professional edition includes all the features, while Standard and Lite have limited functionality. For a comparison between editions, please check feature matrix