The Run presets section allows you to manage the existing default presets or add new ones. These presets let you configure applications to be executed after the PDF was successfully generated. A preset can be used by multiple printing profiles and whenever a preset is updated, it will be modified automatically in all profiles that use it.
This will create a new preset based on the default one. You can change its settings and use the Save button to record your changes and create the preset. It is created only after you click on the Save button, if you click on Cancel or select a different preset the current one will be discarded.
This allows you to duplicate an existing preset. To do so, just select an existing preset and click on Copy. Unlike the New option, when you copy an existing preset the duplicate is automatically saved with a different name (original name of the preset plus the word Copy ). Removing the original preset doesn't affect in any way the existing copy of it.
Deletes the preset selected from the list of presets. You cannot delete the default presets that are included in the application.
You can use the left/right arrows in the top-right section of the window to navigate back to the profile manager page or forward to the preset window. You can also access quickly the presets by clicking on the Profile text next to the navigational arrows and selecting the preset section you want to read more about.
When the novaPDF is installed, a default set of presets is included for each section that uses presets. These presets have predetermined unchangeable settings that are taken into consideration when creating the PDF files.
However you can create custom presets based on the default ones that when used, will create PDFs using the options you've chosen. In novaPDF there are two types of presets, private and public:
- Private presets. A private preset is visible only to the current user. By default new presets are created as private and only the users from the computer where it was created will be able to see it and use that preset in their profiles.
- Public presets. Public presets are visible from all client computers (or other users on the same computer) that connect to and print via the computer where they are defined (the printer server). When a public preset will be used, all the settings from that preset will be propagated to the client computers.
This list shows the presets (both private and public) that were defined. The icon on the right of the preset name shows what type of it is (public or private). You can filter the shown profiles by starting to type in the search field and also use the Public/Private checkboxes to filter them by type.
The default save presets are automatically included in the application and available right after installation. These are presets created based on the most used scenarios for this section.
Open PDF in Adobe Reader
If you use this default preset, the created PDF file will be opened with Adobe Reader.
Print to default printer
If you use this default after save preset, the created PDF file will be sent for printing to the default printer if Adobe Reader is installed. This means that after the PDF is created, it will also be physically printed by your default printer.
You can type a name for the default preset you are editing/creating.
Add a description for the default preset you are creating/editing.
Optionally you can set the author for this default preset.
When the novaPDF is installed, a default preset is created. This preset uses its own default printing settings to create the PDF files. However you can change those settings and create a custom preset, that when used, will create PDFs using the options you've chosen. For each newly defined preset you can choose to have it as Private or Public by checking or unchecking the Private checkbox.
This field will be already filled by default when an after save action preset is used. To start an application after the PDF is created, enter here the full path to the.exe file for that application or click on the Browse button to find and select the application.
You can also enter network paths (UNC) in the Application field in case the application you want to launch is not on the local computer. Only a full path is allowed. For example, suppose \\PDF_Server\PC1 is mapped on your workstation as drive X, then the following paths are both valid and indicate the same folder: \\PDF_Server\PC1\PDF or X:\PDF. It the network file requires authentication (different from your user login) you have to enter the username/password.
If the application you want to run after the PDF was created supports parameters, you can add those here and the parameters will be passed on to the application when the request is sent. Optionally you can add macro names for the parameters (i.e. add the conversion date to the file name).
Set options for how you want Adobe Reader to be launched:
- Normal. Adobe Reader will be launched with the normal settings.
- Minimized. The app will be launched minimized by default and show in the taskbar.
- Hidden. Adobe Reader will be launched hidden, visible from the tray.
If the application is located on another network computer that requires authentication, enter the username for that user.
If the application is located on another network computer that requires authentication, you'll have to enter the password for that user so that the application will run.
These are advanced technical settings that mostly have influence in server environments. These decide how the application that will be launched after the PDF is generated will be executed. The application can be started in two modes, using a Shell command (Run from shell) or child process (Run as child process).
When the PDF save location Location is set to a Server location, the process is created from the Print Spooler service which runs as System account and the process will run in Windows Session 0 Isolation mode. When the location is set to Local the process is created from the context of the printing application.
Note: Some of the features mentioned on this page might not be available in your edition. The Professional edition includes all the features, while Standard and Lite have limited functionality. For a comparison between editions, please check feature matrix